Skip to main content
Previous

Tasha and Kyma-Li

Next

I’m 19 and I’ve been coming to the Young Lewisham project for four years now. I mostly get involved with the carpentry – that’s my favourite – but I sometimes do the motorbike stuff as well. I’m really proud of the things I’ve made here, especially the big outdoor table and benches.

 

No matter what mood I’m in, I always feel better after coming here. Whatever happens, there’s always laughing and joking. It makes the world a bit brighter!

Tasha, South London

 

I’m 15 and I like riding my bike and playing football. I’ve been coming here for nearly a year. I like that it brings all sorts of people together, and keeps us out of trouble.  We get to do all sorts of activities like learning bicycle and motorbike maintenance or woodwork. We also get to go on trips and I’m really looking forward to riding some of the dirt bikes we’ve fixed up.

 

I’ve learned a lot and I’ve definitely changed since coming here – I think I’m doing a bit better at school.

Kyma-Li, South London

Our Impact

MindOut

MindOut is a mental health service run by and for lesbians, gay, bisexual, trans, and queer people. The charity works to improve the mental health and wellbeing of LGBTQ communities and to make mental health a community concern We are proud to have supported Mind Out with a £4,000 grant and are pleased to report…

Read More

Alex

I was born in Chester but I’ve lived inside the North Wales border all my life. I loved developing websites when I was younger, so always wanted to work in IT. I left school at 16 and got a job designing and installing pay-as-you-go internet systems… that was about 10 years ago, and how times…

Read More

Karl

I’ve been at Hospice UK for the past 17 years. It sounds cliché I know, but I’ve been doing this job for so long because I’m motivated to know that what I’m doing makes a difference to people’s lives. At Hospice UK, we believe that whoever you are, wherever you are, and whatever your condition,…

Read More

Frank

I’ve been a freemason for almost 22 years – in fact I’m coming up to the anniversary next month. I’m retired now but I was an accountant by trade; accountant to lodge almoner isn’t the most natural step, but there you go!   About seven years ago our old almoner was going through some family…

Read More